Mystery Novels on My TBR Pile

After fantasy, mystery is my favorite genre. Two of my favorite novels of last year were mystery. I tend to go through my mystery novels faster than fantasy, contemporary, or historical fiction because those are ones that save me from reading slumps. Mystery novels, both adult and young adult, are fun and exciting and sometimes terrifying. But even with the amount I read, I still have quite a few on my TBR.

Here are my favorite mystery novels currently on my to be read pile:

 

And When She Was Good by Laura Lippman

andwhenshewasgood

A friend of mine gave me this book for my birthday two years ago. The story follows Heloise Lewis who, by day, is a young widow with a son and a good-hearted lobbyist. By night, she’s a high-price call girl. After ten years, the brilliant facade she has created for herself is falling apart with the alleged suicide of a madam and her violent ex’s release from prison. But can she really start all over again with a new identity?

 

Every Fifteen Minutes by Lisa Scottoline

everyfifteenminutes

Every Fifteen Minutes is one of those impulse buys from Target. Eric, a caring psychiatrist and single dad, becomes the prey of a sociopathic patient. When he makes a professional decision, his life is suddenly on the line. The plot sounds a lot like a Lifetime movie, one of my guilty pleasures.

 

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

littlemonsters2

Little Monsters is the most recent purchase on this list and one I am really, really excited for. Unfortunately, I have a long list of books I want to read before 2017 is over, so this one will have to wait for now. Anyway, this book follows Kacey, a new girl in a small town, who finds herself the center of unwanted attention after one of her new friends goes missing following a party. As she looks for answers, she realizes she can’t trust anyone in her new home.

 

Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten

suicidenotesfrombeautifulgirls

Another young adult thriller, Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls follows June, the only person in town who does not believe her best friend Delia committed suicide. Remembering an incident that happened a year ago that got out of hand, June suspects this has something to do with Delia’s death. But there is more to the truth than she ever anticipated.

 

The Magician’s Lie by Greer Macallister

themagicianslie

The Magician’s Lie is a historical fiction mystery about an illusionist called Amazing Arden who, after a performance goes horribly wrong, is arrested. The book takes place over the course of one night as Arden is interrogated by a young officer determined to make her reveal her secrets. When I first discovered The Magician’s Lie on Goodreads, I was so intrigued by it I almost bought the ridiculously beautiful but expensive hardcover right there. Then, Target came to my rescue with the cheaper, albeit not as pretty, paperback. I’ve owned this book for two years, and I still have not read it. Shocking.

 

The Diviners by Libba Bray

thediviners

The Diviners is another historical fiction mystery, this one with a more paranormal twist. Set in 1926 New York City, Evie lives with her eccentric uncle Will, who runs an occult museum, and hides her own supernatural ability. But when a girl is murdered in a ritualistic way, she uses her power to catch a killer. The only reason I can think of that I have not read The Diviners yet is because the size intimidates me. Otherwise, I should have devoured it by now.

 

The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

themadmansdaughter

The Madman’s Daughter is supposed to be a retelling of The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells, I think, which is a story I have not read. It follows Juliet Moreau, the daughter of the mad scientist, who journeys with two companions to the island he is hiding to find out if the rumors about her father are true. Once she arrives, though, Juliet discovers she has inherited her father’s strange fascination with science, as well as possibly his madness. I can’t remember how long exactly I have owned The Madman’s Daughter, just that I still want to read it and it is about time I do.

 

Do you have a favorite mystery novel?

One thought on “Mystery Novels on My TBR Pile

  1. Just like you mystery is right up there with my favourite genres. My favourite mystery book is The Secret In Their Eyes by Eduardo Sacheri. I have a blast reading that book along with Blood Game by Iris Johansen. Good luck on trying to get though all those mystery books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

