Top 10 Popular Book Series I Have Not Read Yet (But Really Want To)

When it comes to popular books, more often than not, I’m late to join the bandwagon. Primarily because there are so many books I want to read that it is hard to prioritize them all. Also, adulting problems 101, choosing which books I want to spend money on and hope they don’t make me feel like I wasted a paycheck. Thankfully, there is my well-stocked and well-connected local library!

The majority of the series on this list are old and I don’t already own the first book in the series. Most likely, I will be checking most of these out of the library within the next year, due to the fact that I am not as hard-core into reading them as I was when I was first introduced to BookTube a few years ago, but I still want to read them nonetheless. Just not enough to spend money on them.

 

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

Likely one of the most beloved series on this list, The Raven Cycle is the one I am most looking forward to reading. The books always got so much hype when they came out. I think the reason why I didn’t pick them up right away was because the premise didn’t appeal to me at the time the first book, The Raven Boys, came out: a girl from a family of psychics but lacking psychic powers herself teams up with a group of mysterious boys to find a missing Welsh king.

Now, I’m more open to the concept and I’ve heard the books get better as the story goes on. Plus, I think the hardcovers of The Raven Cycle, particularly Blue Lily, Lily Blue, are quite beautiful.

 

Shatter Me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

One of the staples in dystopian young adult literature, Shatter Me has been described as a guilty pleasure read for some. The plot is not that great, but the romance is steamy and the writing is beautiful. I think after I read The Hunger Games trilogy and the Divergent trilogy, I had had my full of dystopian literature, which is probably why it has taken me so long to finally want to read the Shatter Me trilogy.

 

Anna and the French Kiss trilogy by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door, and Isla and the Happily Ever After are probably three of the most well-known titles in the young adult contemporary genre. I know why it has taken me so long to read these. When they were first published, I read strictly fantasy or mystery novels, hardly any contemporary. If I did happen to read contemporary, it involved nothing fluffy or cute. But my reading tastes have changed since then.

 

The Selection series by Kiera Cass

Another young adult dystopian, this one involving princesses vying for the throne and the prince’s heart in a competition reminiscent of The Bachelor. Similar to the situation regarding Shatter Me, The Selection received mixed reviews with the publication of each book, particularly surrounding the dislike of the main character. Also, I had lost interest in dystopians for a while once I discovered high fantasy. Yet, despite it all, I’m still interested in the plot itself as well as reading about the famous Prince Maxon.

 

Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes

A series on this list I am seriously considering biting the bullet and buying, Falling Kingdoms is a multiple-perspective high fantasy young adult series that is classified as Games of Thrones for teens. After reading Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series and Truthwitch by Susan Dennard, I love the high fantasy genre. From what I’ve heard about Falling Kingdoms, it sounds like a lot of action-packed fun.

 

Legend trilogy by Marie Lu

In case you haven’t figured it out by now, there are a lot of old-time dystopians on this list. Legend is one of the ones I have wanted to read for years and I haven’t heard anything about it since the publication of its last book, Champion. This one also sounds like it was a real dystopian with a corrupted government and social system like The Hunger Games had. Although, when I will get around to reading the Legend trilogy, I’m not sure.

 

The Young Elites trilogy by Marie Lu

After Falling Kingdoms, The Young Elites is another young adult series I think I might buy. It is a historical fiction high fantasy novel set in an alternative medieval period featuring an anti-heroine main character. The story has been marketed as a villain’s origin story. I really hope it does not disappoint once I read it.

 

Delirium trilogy by Lauren Oliver

When Delirium first came out, I remember the premise intrigued me: a dystopian society where love is viewed as a disease and, at the age of 16, everyone gets a surgery to make them not feel love. Now, I find it a little silly. And yet, it is on this list because it is another staple in young adult dystopian literature, as well as the fact that I am still curious about how Lauren Oliver made that kind of story work for three books.

 

The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

I know very little about the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo and I want to keep it that way. When the books were first published, they weren’t talked about a lot, at least not with the YouTubers I watched at the time, which is probably why I had such a lack of interest. But thanks to the Six of Crows duology, people are picking up the Grisha trilogy and I am seeing more reviews on it that make me want to try the series out for myself.

 

Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows is likely one of the most beloved and popular series on this entire list—if not the most beloved and popular. I’ve seen the covers in stores; they are gorgeous and I want to buy them. But I have not picked up this duology for two reasons. First, sometimes hyped books and characters fall flat for me, so I hesitate. Second, I like to do things in chronological order, so I plan on reading the Grisha trilogy before reading Six of Crows. And who knows when that will be?

 

What popular book series have you not read yet? Which one of these should I read first?

Leave a Reply

